It’s Monday!!! What Are You Reading?

Standard

My 10 Favorite Caldecott Books (In no particular order)

1. The Treasure, by Uri Shulevitz

download

This story is about a man named Isaac. He heard a voice in his dreams telling him to go look for a treasure by a palace. When he got to the palace he could not find a treasure and a soldier told him to not believe in his dreams. The soldier laughed in his face, and told him that if he believed his dream the soldier would find a treasure in a man named Isaac’s house. Isaac returned to his home and sure enough he found a treasure.

I really enjoyed this book. It has really good illustrations and shows the reader a different looking culture than most are used to. Also, along with telling a story it also teaches a lesson to the reader. This book is a very good book to read to a younger classroom or for a child that can read independently.

2. Owen, by Kevin Henkes

owen_book

This book is about a little mouse named Owen that is attached to his blanket. The story goes onto tell all of the many activities that Owen and his blanket Fuzzy do together. When a neighbor sees that he is still carrying around his blanket, she teaches his parents many different ways to try and get Owen to get rid of Fuzzy. After many failed attempts and school approaching fast, his parents finally come up with the solution that Owen, Fuzzy, his parents, and the neighbor are happy with.

I could relate to this book because I have a little sister that was very attached to her blanket and now I have a baby brother that is very attached to his blankets. I thought that this story was very cute and outlined a very good problem and solution story line. The illustrations were adorable and overall the book is a good for reading for story time.

3. Swimmy, by Leo Lionni

swimmy

Swimmy is a little black fish that lived in a large school of red fish. One day all of the red fish got eaten by a tuna fish, but Swimmy was fast enough to get away. As he swam alone through the ocean he saw many creatures that he had never seen before. Then Swimmy ran into another school of red fish that were hiding. Swimmy wanted to play with them and had to think of a way for all of the fish to be safe from the big fish so they did not have to hide. Finally, Swimmy came up with the best idea ever, and all of the fish were safe.

I really liked that the illustrations were watercolor and weren’t the typical looking pictures in a children’s book. The story line was really done well because it shows the reader problem solving and how to make new friends. It is a cute little book that would be a good book for teachers to read to a classroom of younger kids.

4. Kitten’s First Full Moon, by Kevin Henkes

kittens_first_full_moon

This book is about a little kitten that sees a full moon and thinks that it is a bowl of milk. She leaps and bounds and jumps to try and reach the bowl of milk. The little kitten climbs a tree to see if she is tall enough to reach it, but can’t. From the tree, she saw the reflection of the moon on the pond and jumped into the pond hoping it was the milk. Now she was wet and wanted to go home. When she got home though, there was a bowl of milk waiting for her.

I thought that the story line was really cute and playful, especially when reading to little kids. The illustrations are very detailed especially for being in black and white. However, I wonder what kind of a difference it would make if the pictures were in color.

5. On Market Street, by Arnold Lobel

On-Market-Street

 

This book is about a boy who goes to market street and buys an item for each letter of the alphabet. For A, he bought apples; B, he bought books; C, he bought clocks and so forth.

I thought this book was really cute because for A-Z they have a person covered in each thing that the boy bought. I also think that it is a very good book to teach younger children the alphabet and it shows them objects to associate with each letter. This book is very creative and visually appealing.

6. Inch by Inch, by Leo Lionni

1751234

 

This book is about a little inch worm that measures lots of things for different animals. He measures a robin’s tail, a flamingo’s neck, a toucan’s beak and a few other things. He almost gets eaten by one of the animals though, but comes up with a solution to get away.

I thought that this book was very cute and had adorable illustrations. It is a very simple story line to follow and would be a very good book for younger children, like kindergarten or 1st grade age. It would be a very good book to read to a class of kids.

7. Green, by Laura Vaccaro Seeger

green-by-laura-vaccaro-seeger

 

This book is really simple. It does not really have a story line. It has a picture of something green and then the text identifies the color of green. This book would not really be a good book to read to a class, but it would be a good resource to have in a kindergarten classroom when teaching the class colors.

8. Henry’s Freedom Box, by Ellen Levine

Henrys_freedom_-210

 

Henry’s Freedom Box is about a boy that is a slave. At first he is with his family, but then he gets sold off to another slave owner. He works at a tobacco factory for this owner. This is where he meets the love of his life, who is also a slave. Both of them get permission from their owners to get married, they got married, and had three kids. Everything was so perfect. One day when Henry was at work, he got told that his wife and kids were being sold in the slave auction. He was too late, his family was gone, and Henry was alone. Then Henry came up with this idea to be free, which was his ultimate dream. He hid in a cargo box and mailed himself to freedom.

This book has a more advanced story line and a deeper meaning behind the story. The illustrations are very detailed and precise. If a teacher would want to read this book to a class, it would be best to read it to a class of advanced readers of at least 2nd grade age because of the depth of the subject and the story line.

9. A Sick Day for Amos McGee, by Philip C. Stead

51ufNmqoNHL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

 

This book is about a man named Amos who went to the zoo every day to work and visit his good friends. He did many things like racing with a tortoise, played chess with an elephant, and many other things. One day he woke up and he was too sick to go to work. His good friends missed him and went to go make him feel better. They did all of the same things for Amos that Amos did for them.

I thought this book was super adorable. It has a very cute story line and really good illustrations. It shows that friends help each other no matter what and teaches kids to stand by their friends. This would be an adorable book to read to a class and ask them all sorts of questions about it.

10. Journey, by Aaron Becker

51CPxCt64eL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

 

This book is about a girl that has no one to play with, so she finds a piece of chalk in her room and starts her journey. Anything she needs she draws with the chalk and it magically appears, like a door to a universe that she created. She goes on an amazing journey and even meets a new friend along the way. They continue their journey together and are forever friends.

I have never read a book before that never had any words to tell the story. This book only had pictures to tell the story of this girl’s journey and surprisingly, this book did not need any words to portray the story to the reader. I was surprised at how much I liked this book, because I thought I wouldn’t. Never judge a book by it’s cover, or lack of words.

19 thoughts on “It’s Monday!!! What Are You Reading?

  1. I have always felt that the best book that you read are the ones that make you use your imagination and that involve you into the story just like you are really there. When I first purchased a book with no words in it I was skeptical at best, but I have since found that these illustrated books make you think about the story and what it is portraying to you the reader. Each person who read it will come up with their own ideas of what it means to them. I liked all your book choices and am glad that you enjoyed Journey.

    Like

    • I was very interested in Journey and I am very glad I got it. I think I will be more open to grabbing more books like this and seeing what they have to offer. It is nice to have something different than a traditional book that tells you the story with very little room for your own imagination!

      Like

  2. On your last book Journey, I would have never guessed that by looking at the cover it would be a wordless book. I sometimes enjoy those types of books as it makes you use your imagination as to what the text would be. Would you use these types of books in your classroom?

    Like

    • I believe I would use these type of books in my classroom. I don’t think I would use them as a book to read to the class but have them for the students to use whenever they wanted and encourage them to think for themselves and use their imagination. I believe that a book like this would be a very useful tool to have for children to develop when they are younger, and I would maybe even use it as a tool to have my students write their own stories and tell me about them. I don’t know yet, but I was very excited about the book.

      Like

  3. I am like you and had not read any books that were just pictures before this last week. A few of the 20 books I read were just picture books and I was surprised how pictures can tell a story just as well as words can! I enjoyed Kitten’s First Full Moon as well. It is such a cute story! For some reason, I really enjoyed the black and white pictures. Not all books would work well with this, but this book does. I also thought Owen and A Sick Day for Amos McGee were cute books as well. I like adorable stories such as these to read to children. Some of the books you read I looked for at my local library but could no find. You made me want to read The Treasure and Henry’s Freedom Box. I will have to keep looking for these books!

    Like

    • I was very shocked that I liked the books that did not have pictures. Both The Treasure and Henry’s Freedom Box should both be available at the library on campus if you are able to come and check books out from here.

      Like

  4. David Wiesner is another illustrator who has won many Caldecotts and also does wordless or nearly wordless picture books. His newest book, Mr Wuffles, is one of my favorites, but then it’s about a cat, and I love books about cats. The books you selected had a varied visual style. That’s one thing I do enjoy about reading Caldecott winners. Even though some of the books don’t appeal as much to me, I appreciate getting to see different art styles and I think the Caldecott committee does a good job of selecting a wide variety of styles to recognize.

    Like

    • I really enjoyed getting to read these books and for this week’s books I have also chosen quite a few more books that are also Caldecott winners. This was a good experience and I will continue to look for more books that win this award.

      Like

  5. I loved reading your summaries of the books! They were very detailed and made me want to read every single one of them. I completely agree with you on the books that have no words.It turned out I ended up liking them more than I had expected! You put it very nicely when saying, “Never judge a book by it’s cover, or lack of words.” 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you! When I was looking for books I actually put quite a few books back that did not have words because I was did not understand how anyone could read a book without words and now I think I am going to go back and read some of those books.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Good evening. Very interesting selections. I enjoyed seeing books which I was not familiar with. I will be finding Henry’s Freedom Box and Journey to read for myself. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • Those were two of my favorite books that I read all last week and I think that they will continue to be some of my favorites. I might even buy them to have in my classroom someday.

      Like

  7. I really enjoyed how you told age groups for each book. I think sometimes people assume if it looks like a children’s book then any age of younger children can read them. I find that often that is not always the case, some children’s books are for the upper elementary and not kindergarten. I also read Journey and enjoyed the book. For a book without words I feel the illustrations do a great job of still telling a story. I really liked your selection of book choices.

    Like

    • I think that it is very important to have levels that children should be reading at and if they are not there then the teachers should be doing more to help their students, which does not always happen these days.

      Like

  8. You had some great choices of books and I am definitely interested in reading all of them. The only one that I have already read is A Sick Day for Amos McGee and I really liked it because of the message it sent about friendship. In my list of books I had another book written by Uri Shulevitz called How I Learned Geography. I think he is a very good heartfelt writer and I’m curious about other books he has written. I also liked how you talked about the illustrations because I think that when reading children’s books children are sometimes more interested in the pictures than the actually story itself. So I think that good illustrations are really important to the story.

    Like

    • I really liked Uri Shulevitz and I am going to try to read all of the books that the campus library has by him. Sometimes I even enjoy looking at the pictures even more than the story :). However, I would recommend Uri Shulevitz to everyone and anyone. I hope that you enjoy more of his books.

      Like

  9. Looks like you read some pretty good books! The only book that I read off of your list was A Sick Day for Amos McGee, which is found pretty good. I’m really interested in Henry’s Freedom Box! It sounds really good!

    Like

Leave a comment