5 Image Story

Standard

If I was asked if I was a reader I would probably have to say no. I wish I was a reader, but I did not have time in high school to do very much else besides school, activity after activity and homework. Yes, I would read the occasional book for an assignment but I did not get to read very much outside of homework assignments.

The first experience that shaped me as a reader was probably learning how to read. If it had not been for learning how to read when I was little I would not have been able to go to school, read or do anything that I do now. We are very fortunate in this country, we are offered many wonderful opportunities that some people around the world cannot even dream about having, and one of those is schooling and being able to read. 2891135206_6c04618074_n

 

As a young child in school teachers and administrators try their best to get young children excited about reading by offering incentives and programs that will keep students involved in reading throughout all of their years in public education. This was the second key moment that shaped me as a reader. Throughout all of elementary school if we met our goals we had incentive parties or some other kind of reward that encouraged us to meet our goals and helped us to love reading. These incentives did help me enjoy reading because lets face it, what kid didn’t like getting something extra that you normally don’t get at the end of a quarter.

5039126916_167925c819_m

When I moved past elementary school to middle school is when reading became tough for me. Teachers made reading more of a chore and less of a fun activity that would be rewarded. Sometimes there would still be a small reward that would be put on if each student met their AR goals, but it was not celebrated the same as in elementary. AR goals are a point system that are school district used for reading. Each book that you read had a certain number of points that could be achieved if the test was passed with 100%, and by the end of a quarter each student had to reach a certain number of points. The student did not set the number of points that they had to reach, the teachers did, which made it that much worse for students and more stressful if they could not reach that goal. Having a set AR goal and not being able to adjust it to fit me is where I started to dislike reading, and started to push back when it came to reading for fun.

5699253906_73890554fe_m

 

When I got to high school I found out that AR goals did not exist anymore and that probably made me the happiest person ever. In high school, there  were less requirements for books and reading and I could have more fun with what I read. This really helped me get back into reading. However, even though there was less requirements, I had a lot less time to read. I was involved in a lot of activities, two sports, and a ton of organizations, plus I had to do school work on top of everything else. With everything I did and had to do for school, I barely had time to read. Even though I got back into reading, there was just no time between hockey, soccer, National Honor Society, being the president of 3 4-H clubs my senior year (and other offices my previous years), choir, band, marching band, jazz band, Music tech, and Junior Leaders for 4-H as well. It was hard for me to balance my time and it came down to reading was not a top priority.

2941655917_cd7626cff3_m

 

The last key event that shaped me as a reader was this past year, my senior year, when I interned in two kindergarten classrooms at my local primary school. Part of my duties in both of my classrooms was to take a small group of kids out into the hall and help them read through a book. At first it was a little rough. The kids did not know very many of the words and could not remember the words that I helped them sound out. Then one day, everything changed. Everything started clicking for the kids and it was amazing to see them start remembering and learning. That moment is exactly why I am here at Chadron pursuing a degree in Elementary Education, for that amazing moment when a child understands what you are trying to teach them.

3291620563_cdfc280d25_m

 

Even though I am not a reader per say, I hope to help my future students learn to love reading and build a passion that cannot be ruined by future teachers or students around them. That is my goal to change the lives of my students no matter what, where or who I teach.

14 thoughts on “5 Image Story

  1. It sounds like once upon a time, you WERE a reader! So we just have to find some ways to recapture that in this class and help you find books you will enjoy reading. Many of my students have told me that AR killed their love of reading. They were forced to read books they weren’t interested in because they were at the right level, then forced to take those quizzes. In real life, readers don’t read for points or for rewards. Reading is its own reward! So I’m not sure we do kids any service when we tie reading to goals and rewards. We’ll look at some classrooms this semester that don’t use any kind of reward system but where kids are reading voraciously. Thanks for sharing your story!

    Like

    • One of my goals this semester is to be able to get back into reading and be able to find time to read again! I hope I will be able to find that! I agree that reading has it’s own rewards and forcing tests does not give students the opportunity to find that reward. I hope to gain a lot from this class and this semester!!!

      Like

  2. I think it is difficult for many students now to have extra time to read. I am sorry you experienced this. School days are longer than when I was in school and expectations are high. Students really only have summers for recreational reading and it is too bad they are so overwhelmed during the school year! Hopefully despite time constraints we can still encourage students to read for fun as often as they can!

    Like

    • There are a lot of time constraints and also a lot of other choices that students pick over reading especially now that we are in college. I hope that now with less hours spent in a classroom and more free time there will be more time for reading and encouragement will increase through classes like this!!

      Like

  3. It is crazy how much time gets taken up when you enter high school. I was in the same shoes as you with being in sports, 4-H, and different organizations. After all of those and school and homework there would just be no time for finding a book and reading it.

    Like

    • I am happy to know I was not alone in being busy all the time. Besides being busy and having homework and college classes that I took on top of high school, like you said there isn’t any time to grab a book and read. All you want to do in the little free time you have is relax!

      Like

  4. I agree with you in almost every aspect of your story because I went through the same process to get me to where I am right now and how I feel about reading. I once did like reading but it could be because of the incentives offered by the school. I also agree that we have a great country with great schools and sometimes we forget about that and take little things like knowing how to read for granted; and I will admit to that.

    Like

    • I believe that our society can take many things for granted and most of the time we don’t even realize it. Schools do try to offer a lot of incentives to try to get kids to read more but it becomes counterproductive when they force the reading on the children as well.

      Like

  5. What happened to you with AR is a concern I think of daily with my 2nd graders. They have so much reading during the day, and then have to read for points, and I could see where this would turn someone off from reading. I never had the AR program growing up, but I also know that when someone forces me to read, I have a hard time reading. I am glad that your love started to grow back in high school! I am hoping a lot of my kiddos don’t get turned away from reading because of the goals and tests.

    Like

    • It is a little harder to help children grow their love of reading through school and once they have that love, sometimes it takes very little to knock it down. Reading should have been made fun not a chore.

      Like

  6. I also considered myself as a non-reader. I really like your first moment in life because I never looked at it that way. I, like many do sometimes forget that we are fortunate to be able to read, so that is a very good moment about learning how to read. That is nice that you got to help kids learn how to read.

    Like

    • I loved my interning experience. I recommend that to anyone that is truly considering going into education. It affirmed that being a teacher is what I absolutely what I want to do. I will never take for granted children and their absolute wonder with learning.

      Like

  7. I’ll have to agree with you that finding time for reading, especially now, is extremely tough. It seems like most of these posts that I have read and the one that I posted myself, are a lot alike. I personally hated to be told what to read. So for me book reports and AR was where my reading started to go downhill. The only reading that I enjoy to do is the reading that I want to do. My suggestion is that you find a certain author or a series that you like to get back into reading. My favorite author is Ellen Hopkins and I just wait until another one of her books come out, and I also reread her books when I’m in the mood to read.

    Like

    • In high school that is what I did a lot. I found a series of books and read them all the way through. That is one of the things that really helped me to get back into reading in high school. I have come to find out though that a lot of people are like me and even you in the fact that they do not read a lot anymore because of being forced to read when we were younger.

      Like

Leave a comment