In Response to Donalyn Miller’s article “Creating Readers”

Standard

When I read Donalyn Miller’s article there were a few things that really stood out to me. One of these things was the fact that she did not believe in the Accelerated Reader program and AR Goals. I think that is awesome for a teacher to dislike them because I have never met a teacher that didn’t at least think that they could help students. The reasons that she gave for disliking the AR program is because it brings kids down and students and herself have a negative view of it. She also goes onto say that kids have told her that they have cheated on their tests just to pass the class. Also, that students that enjoy reading have avoided books that they want to read just because there is not an AR test for it.

The other thing that really stood out to me was that she does not allow any free time in her classroom. The students in her classroom know that as soon as they come into class until the time that she begins teaching they are supposed to pull out their book and read. The same goes for if they finish their assignment early, if the projector breaks, or if a teacher comes into talk to her. I also like her philosophy that if you get students to enjoy reading in school they will be more likely to read when they are outside of school.

A couple of other things that I really liked about the way that she teaches are that she supports SSR time. Also, she does not pick and require a book for the entire class to read, like To Kill a Mockingbird in my freshman English class, she picks a number of books that the students should aim to read by the end of her class. They can pick what kind of books and read at their own pace. Lastly, I really liked that she stated that reading in itself is a reward.

Sadly enough I did not have a classroom that taught reading like Donalyn Miller does. I think my outlook on reading and how much I read would have been different if I would have had a teacher that had her perspective. Knowing this, I would like to implement her style of teaching into mine when I become a teacher. I really like the fact that she teaches her way and her students benefit from it. She doesn’t solely base her curriculum off of Common Core but adapts it to meets her students needs. I was really impressed with Donalyn Miller!

10 thoughts on “In Response to Donalyn Miller’s article “Creating Readers”

  1. I had the same impression of Donalyn Miller as you did! I loved her view on books and reading and her teaching style. I think future teachers should consider adopting her teaching style because it would be very beneficial to students!

    Like

    • I completely agree with you, and teachers that are currently teaching should even consider adapting to this kind of thinking because after reading most of the blogs about whether our fellow classmates are readers or not, AR and other programs like this are causing students to dislike reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree completely when you say that not having any free time stood out to you. When I grew up we would rush to get assignments done just so we could go play games. When kids have to read that much, I think that they will be sure to find a book that they enjoy. When I find a book that I enjoy it makes me want to keep reading more and more!

    Like

    • You also make a good point, that kids rush to get their assignments done to play games and probably text and talk to their friends. But if they are held to the standard of having to read when they are done, they will take their time on their assignments and they might be of better quality. Also having a good book really helps to enjoy reading.

      Like

  3. I just read a really interesting research article today about the different ways that AR doesn’t work to promote authentic reading goals. I’ll post it as optional reading in this week’s LESSONS in Sakai in case you’d like to bookmark it to share with administrators or colleagues in the future.

    Like

    • Thank you very much. Now that I am out of public school is when I am really starting to see how much the AR program really affected me and my reading. I wish I had enjoyed it more like some students, but it was presented negatively to me, and maybe that is the only way that it needs to be fixed, or not I don’t know for sure.

      Like

  4. Great Blog! I agree with you about AR reading in the schools. I know that students in the 7th grade literature class that I am in have a hard time with the AR reading. Much because of the reasons you listed. I know students pick books based on the length, if an AR test is available and reading level. Just knowing you have to take a test on the book you are reading puts a damper on reading for enjoyment. Do you think that the administration will allow you to teach like Miller?

    Like

    • I would hope so, especially if it would benefit the students and help improve reading in the school. I would hope that they would be a little flexible with that sort of thing. One thing that I do not want to do to my students is put them through the same thing that I know I did not enjoy and make them hate reading, that is not supposed to be the goal when teaching.

      Like

Leave a comment